Soul Revealing Questions: Chapter 5

Standard

cropped-images.jpg

I finished reading the Souls Revealed book two days ago, but have only had time to type up the questions so far. I’m not sure what made me decide to finish reading all in one night, but I did. Now I have about five chapters worth of questions to answer and absolutely no time to answer them. So here goes, with Chapter 5. Let’s see how much I can get done!


 

  • Have you experienced being attacked at a critical point in your life?

That depends on what you consider an attack. I would say yes, since my life has been changed for the negative at really pivotal points. Having family drama as a young teenager when I’m trying to figure out myself and my own reactions was a bad time for me. Also starting my first full-time job (which required a ton of my focus) while losing my best friend and fiance is the hardest thing I’ve ever done. And for whatever reason, these were critical points in my life as well as bad parts.

  • How did you feel during and after that experience?

Alone? Confused? Sometimes I’m still not sure…

  • Did you abandon your dream?

I have not abandoned my dream of teaching since each of these events has happened. In fact, both of them led me to be a better teacher because I have more time to put into my classes and students. Additionally, I find that these amazing kids that I teach lift me up instead of tearing me down like the other people had done. 

  • What lesson did you learn about yourself?

I learned that I need to trust myself more, but that I always do the right thing no matter how much it hurts. Try forgiving your fiance for breaking your heart and killing some of your dreams; if you can do that, you can do just about anything.

  • How much time do you spend working? Is it often during evenings, days off, weekends, and/or holidays?

It depends on the day and my mood/what I have going on. I often put in 9-10 hours during the week, at least 2 hours on weekends. I hate having papers on a huge pile to grade, so I’ll do them evenings, weekends, or days off as well. But I love my job, so what’s the harm?

  • Who did you surround yourself with during tough times- cheerleaders or naysayers?

A mixture of both- those who felt pure sympathy for me and those who wanted to say I told you so. The thing is, these people are important to me whether they are positive or negative. The negativity didn’t help nearly as much as the positivity, but there were only small negative moments. 

  • Were you able to focus on the light at the end of the tunnel? Were you in a fog?

Definitely in a fog. There is no light when you’re surrounded by a black cloak. It’s okay though; even if I didn’t see it then, I see at least some of the light now. 

  • How do you think it prepared you for your next life crisis?

Hmm… I guess that depends on what life crisis occurs…

  • Give an example of leading under adversity.

Teaching even though your heart is broken and you are feeling completely unsocial. Still being able to help people who are even better off than you are without judging or holding grudges. 

  • Are you a spontaneous person or do you need to plan your time based on a schedule?

I have moments where I am both of these people, though I find that my spontaneity is often a choice that ends in negativity. 

  • What do you consider to be quality time?

Any time spent with my loved ones. Some is of better quality than others, but all times are important. 

  • What is your typical day like?

Wake up, eat, dress. Do work, come home, study, watch TV with the family, go to bed. (This is my typical work day…)

  • How can you eliminate chaos from your life?

Be organized. Think before you act. Trust those who show they can be trusted. Pray. Hard.

  • Provide 5 ways in which you can seed optimism in your life.

Make a book of positive quotes- refer to it.

Attend Church and truly try to get something positive out of the lesson.

Make a playlist of positive songs that are encouraging.

Surround yourself with those who have positive attitudes, are great supporters of you, and are always around to help.

Learn from your mistakes so that you can be less fearful of events in the future. 

Leave a Reply

