Tonight I’m Okay

Standard

There’s something about a slap of reality that is so awful and yet so amazing that it can be hard to swallow. A dose of this reality is something that comes along all too often when you cannot handle it. From a frustrating assignment at work to an impossible confrontation with a friend, its possible to be flung back into reality in the blink of an eye. The question is, why do humans allow themselves to be lost in their joy and happiness when the end of that happiness is always lurking right around the corner? Why is life destined to create circles around us over and over again?

I was having a curious conversation with a co-worker the other day about Obama and his immigration ideas. I got so frustrated that I couldn’t understand why we continue to make the same mistakes over and over again. It’s amazing to me that we have so many historic sites in the world and so many of us love reading and learning about history. Yet when it comes to decision making, we consistently make the same mistakes over and over.

Then there’s me of course. The girl who’s so scared of repeating history that she never does the same thing twice. While I love routine, the first time my routine is broken I reinvent the wheel entirely.

I certainly don’t have it all figured out but sometimes I wish I’d be more of a role model and less of an introvert…

Regardless, tonight I’m okay because I know who I am regardless of anyone else’s opinion or approval.

-Me

Leave a Reply

