Sunday’s Sermon: So I Snoozed…

Standard

Sunday Sermon

That’s right- I slept in extra long today. It makes sense, since I have been less active than normal lately (so I don’t sleep as soon in the evenings). But it also means that I missed Church this morning. I guess I’ll have to get used to that fact since my job starts up again this week. Between going to college full-time and working full-time, I’m not sure if I have time to go to Church every week. Maybe, hopefully. At the very least, I pray on my own and keep up with this blog as much as possible to stay in touch with my Faith. That, at least for a while, will have to be enough. 

In the meantime though, I’ve got nothing good to discuss from the Sermon this morning. I have no idea what they discussed. So, I’ve decided to talk about something less religious and more intriguing (at least to me). The topic? Amish. Yep, Amish. 

The lives of the Amish intrigue me a lot. I think most of the interest comes from the fact that I’m an old soul at heart. At least that’s what I’ve been told. People always tell me that I would have been way happier twenty, thirty, even forty years ago. Though I’m not sure I completely agree (what would I do without my technology???), I do believe them to an extent. People were, in many cases, more caring and more able to wear their heart on their sleeves back then. That’s the type of person that I am, so it makes sense.

The thing is, the Amish live without a lot of technology and modern amenities. I’m not so sure I’d like being without running water, sewage, etc. but I bet I could get a lot of reading done if I didn’t have a television or computer. Plus I enjoy the small things that the Amish find necessary to survive; sewing, gardening, tending to animals. I might not be so great in the cooking department, but I could learn. And the more close-knit my community is, the happier I would be. 

Sure, just because the Amish live by a different set of beliefs doesn’t mean that they don’t have their own life problems. Problems are, in my opinion, completely based on perception. So I’m sure it would be a struggle. But I’d have an even better work ethic than what I already have, I wouldn’t take so many things for granted, and I probably wouldn’t be so fat. Not that I’m obese or anything, but I don’t work out, or work, nearly as much as I ought to. 

This whole conversation leads me to wonder if I would be able to survive in the life of an Amish girl. I’m thinking that, if I had to, the answer would be yes. But I wonder if I would truly be happier. I guess I’ll never have the opportunity to test the theory since their communities are pretty closed. Plus, their religious beliefs differ from mine and I don’t really plan on changing my beliefs just to test a theory. 

Anyway, I would also like to take the time to make the point that I said something very VERY important a few sentences ago: Struggles and problems are completely up to perception. Today, and for the last few days, I have been experiencing some problems with perception. You see, just because I am extremely close to my family and friends does not mean that we all see things from the same angles in the same ways. When we see things from a different perspective, people get upset, people seem distant, and things get a little sticky. So I pray that things will be better, apologize if I’ve truly done something wrong, and try to learn from the little mountains that block my path. The thing is though, I wish that everyone would understand that I do not do or say things to be mean or hateful. I do not try to create drama— EVER— and have bad days myself sometimes. I cannot be perfect, in even my own eyes, so I just try the best that I can.

Hopefully people will learn that they may say something completely okay to them, but that will hurt someone else. I challenge each of you this week- if you have a disagreement, are confused about someone’s words or actions, or are otherwise upset by someone- to take a minute and evaluate the situation from a wider stand point. Don’t assume that the other person is wrong, that someone is out to make your life difficult, and that no one cares. I’m sure that there is at least one person out there who cares for each of you. And if any of the situations that you experience could have arisen because of misinterpretation or different people’s perspectives, try to smooth it over without hurting the other person, lashing out, or making things worse. Teach others that perception is what causes most disagreements and problems, so we should all lead our lives with a more open mind. If the person you disagree with does not get agree with you and will not lend an ear, at least move on by being the bigger person. Don’t pass judgement, don’t ruin someone else’s day, and don’t talk about anyone behind their backs. You will feel better for it, and hopefully, others will see the best side of you too! You’d be surprised what you will find out about yourselves when you consider other people first. 

Leave a Reply

