TBT: Finding Heart Chapter 5

Standard

TBT

It was a long night; in fact it was an extremely long night in my mind. The nightmares continued until the early hours of the morning, and I couldn’t stop tossing and turning. At the same time, my brain wouldn’t let my eyes open. It was as if some outside source was keeping them glued shut. I kept fighting the urge to sleep, wanting only to wake up and see the sun shining through my bedroom window. Too bad I’m not that lucky.
It seemed like hours, days had passed in my nightmares. I dreamed about the devil coming and ripping my heart out. Actually, maybe he was after my stomach. That’s where the pain kept shooting from at least. And then there was another dream; one where a man, dressed in black, with an angel’s face and wings came up and smacked me across the face. When he touched me, my heart stopped. Then he walked away, and my life seemed to end.
Finally I woke up. It took forever for my eyes to adjust to the light. When they finally adjusted, everything was green. What happened? I thought to myself. I rolled over and pulled off my blanket. Wait a minute, why is my blanket blue? After finally focusing my brain, pulling myself out of my dream world, I finally realized where I was. I’m still in the woods, my brain screamed.
I jumped up off of the ground and tripped over a limb. Crap, I thought as my feet lost their balance. Before I knew it I was drenched. Everything from the roots of my hair to the twenty-dollar sandals I was wearing was covered with water. It didn’t help matters that I was still sitting in the quietly flowing stream. I was finally able to pull myself out of the water and back up onto the blanket. I wrapped myself in the now-drenched cover and began stomping my way home. No way were my parents going to be happy about this. I wasn’t even happy about this!

The key jammed into the door because I forced it to. As I reached for the doorknob, someone opened it before me. I glanced up to see my dad standing in the entrance to our house. Just like I had thought, he didn’t seem to be in a very good mood.
“Hi Dad,” I mumbled to the sky as I looked up, hoping for a bomb to drop on me while I could still avoid the look in his eyes. I hate my dad being mad at me.
“WHERE HAVE YOU BEEN!” my dad said to me. I was shocked that he wasn’t really screaming; yet he was definitely upset. “We have been waiting for you for the seven hours! If you were going out with friends you should have called. Just because we haven’t given you a cell phone doesn’t mean you can’t call us. You are fourteen years old young lady, and you have no excuse! No excuse at all!”
As Dad paused for a breath, and hopefully to stop his face from turning redder, I dashed through the door. Mistake, I thought as Dad caught my squeaky sandals walking across the hardwood floors. “Stop right there missy. What do you think you are doing walking on our good floors with wet shoes? You take them off this instant! And then get straight up to your room, change your clothes, and go to sleep!”
“That’s where I’m going Dad. Be mad at me all you want, but I’m going to my room already. So stop yelling,” I mumbled back. He couldn’t even hear me he was breathing so heavily. I was just glad that he didn’t; all I needed was another punishment for talking back. I don’t know why my mind was so tired but I wouldn’t have lashed back if I weren’t almost already asleep.
As I climbed the stairs to my room, I took the wet blanket off from around my shoulders. I threw it into the laundry shoot in the upstairs hall, walked into my room, and barely pushed with enough energy to get the door latched closed. When I was safely hidden in my paradise world, I took off my wet clothes, threw them on a pile, changed into some sweats and a t-shirt, and then climbed onto my soft, colorful bed.
I am always so glad that my bed is as comfortable as it is. I can’t ever fall asleep unless I’m surrounded by pillows and covers. This bed was perfect for me; especially right now, when I was so tired. Within five minutes of my head hitting the pillow, I was totally asleep. My dreams began to fill my head again and I drifted off until the next morning came.

Leave a Reply

