Monday’s Message: Perseverance (Again)

Standard

Yesterday I talked some about perseverance and giving up on things in life. Today I would like to elaborate some more on that topic. This time, I am going to talk about it from a different perspective.

One of my favorite quotes by Winston Churchill reads:

If you are going through hell, keep going.

Somehow, he knew what he was talking about. The only way to make it through tough times is to keep going. Never giving up is one of life’s greatest challenges, but it is necessary in order to survive and continue to improve oneself. Many people believe that God gives us only as much as we can handle, and if this is true, we must keep going or be completely defeated by a test that is placed in our way.

I pulled up a list of quotes on perseverance, and I also found this one by Maya Angelou that I absolutely love! I’ve been sitting here thinking about it and rereading it just to make sure I understand the full meaning behind it. She says:

You may encounter many defeats, but you must not be defeated. In fact, it may be necessary to encounter the defeats, so you can know who you are, what you can rise from, how you can still come out of it.

So… you might lose, you might not succeed, but you cannot let that ruin any of your plans or stop you from seeking the goals and accomplishments that you have set forth before yourself.

These two quotes show exactly what I was talking about yesterday: whether or not it is okay to give up. It seems as though both of these amazing people are telling us that we should not give up at all. We must keep pushing regardless of circumstances or difficulties that we may encounter. On the other hand, F. Scott Fitzgerald worded it just a little bit differently.

Never confuse a single defeat with a final defeat.

This quote reminds me of the situation that I discussed yesterday. I gave up on playing field hockey that year, but in the end I think it was a single defeat rather than a final defeat. Don’t get me wrong, I didn’t stand up for myself completely to the point that I made sure the coach never bullied another kid again. And maybe I should have… But what I did do was stand up and say that I was not okay with the situation, and it was more important for me to give up a sport that I loved in order to save my conscience and my emotional being. Maybe I was defeated when I was unable to play, but more than likely, I did win the final victory by saving my extra-emotional self heartache, worry, and disappointment. Maybe after all, I did do the right thing.

Right now there is a situation going on in my life that is ongoing, but more “in my face” right now than usual. It deals with perseverance and whether or not I am strong enough to make the right decisions for me. Unfortunately, these decisions are made all that harder by the fact that they will affect people that I love regardless of what I choose to do. As much as the people discussed above helped me to better understand the situation that I went through years ago, I’m not sure their quotes are helping me much now. In keeping with the same beliefs and ideas, I don’t feel quite as lost in life at this moment. Yet, even with the advice, I don’t believe that I will be strong enough to follow through. Maybe, at the end of the day, that’s the main problem.

It might not be about whether I give up on myself or whether I persevere. Maybe, at the end of the day, it’s all about how I feel about myself. Before I can first give to others, maybe I need to be a little selfish and find a good center for myself, a place where nothing can phase me and even the hardships can be surpassed. Sometimes I think I’ve found this peace, and then something throws my life back into the tumult that I am currently feeling.

Well, I was going to try to finish up this post in some amazing, earth-defying way, but I don’t think it’s going to happen. For one, my computer just crashed and I thought that I had lost everything that I had already written for today. Secondly, I’m not sure there is an answer right now. Maybe I need to keep searching, keep taking advice, and keep trying to focus on myself before others when it comes to situations like this. Not to be selfish, but to find myself in order to better help others. In the end, I guess all I can really do is keep praying about it.

Have some advice for me? Let me know!

 

Leave a Reply

