Friday’s Mash-Up: The Golden Hearted Girl

Standard

Mash_Up

What to post today??

Well, I’ll tell you. Today’s post is just a mash-up of thoughts that I am having today. First, let me just say two very important things:

  1. I am absolutely LOVING the ability to write on this blog every day.
  2. I am so appreciative of the people who have liked, commented, or followed my blog so far! I don’t have many followers yet, but those of you who are in that category are something special to me. The fact that you even read one of my posts makes my day about fifty times over!

In the words of Confucius,

“Life is really simple, but we insist on making it complicated.”

I am trying to refrain from that type of behavior in this blog. I’ve got too much stress, excitement, and hubbub in my life. Having a few good supporters and a bunch of words to put to the page, I am completely satisfied with my blogging experience thus far.

In other news, I have been spending a ton of time acting like a crazy person. And it’s all because my brain is full of this nonsense…

…Well maybe not all of it. But a lot of it. Chemistry, physics, calculus, geometry. I am literally praying to God that I make it through the next year. If my brain already looks like that jumbled up mess, I hate to even see what I will be like at the end of August! (I’m a teacher, in case you couldn’t guess.)

I am still waiting to hear about my friend’s condition, but have to make a huge shout-out to my best friend, my sister! She has offered to go and live with the family until things get back to normal. That way she can help watch the kid, the dogs, etc. Is it bad of me to be slightly jealous of her? Let’s face it, I don’t have the guts to offer something so bold, brave, and courageous. I’m a wimp for one thing. For another, I don’t do well in situations in which I am uncomfortable (or even think that I may be). So while my sister is out, seemingly saving the world, here I sit praying that I will one day be as good of a person as she is. No one has a golden heart like that girl! If they do, I have yet to meet them. Though maybe meeting them is a good thing… if by surrounding myself with golden treasures, I can become a golden treasure myself, then I’m all for it!

But I have a feeling that my fears and insecurities will keep me from achieving much of the greatest that my sister exhibits. So yeah, I’m jealous of her abilities. But more than anything, I am proud of that girl! She might be my younger sister but you could consider her the bigger sister in so many ways. Sometimes I wonder how you can’t see her heart popping out of her chest, it must be that big.

So does our friend have cancer? Who knows… Will everything work out okay? Uh, not sure…

The only thing I do know for sure is that we definitely still need prayers for the situation and that my sister could be a miracle worker some day. For now, I trust that God is leaving the rest up to interpretation for now because he is teaching me a lesson. I know that some of you may not believe that God makes everything happen for a reason, or to teach us a lesson. (Heck, maybe you don’t believe in Him at all.) Yet I do believe that, even if God is not all-controlling of our minds, talents, and decisions, he does have some kind of pull on the events of the world and how they happen. If that’s true, I highly doubt He’s just sitting up there in Heaven somewhere saying “ooo, this would be funny! Let’s try this!” just for the heck of it. So all of this has to be for a reason. I hope. I’ll just keep praying that we find out what that reason is sooner rather than later, and that (hopefully) it is a good reason. A simple lesson learned, with no one the worse for it.

Sorry my post tonight ended up centering around that situation again. I hadn’t meant it to, but apparently that is what is most on my mind. I’ll try to write something a little different later on. For now, leave a comment and let me know if you or someone you know needs or would like prayer. I will gladly return the favor. 🙂

Leave a Reply

