And so it goes… again

Standard

images (2)

I never thought that I would be writing this post today. Yet as I was sitting here, I just had to write. I’m trying to work on Physics, and let’s face it: centripetal acceleration or the escape speed of objects in orbit is not the easiest to understand on a GOOD day. But this is not a good day. The things inside of my head are making it absolutely impossible to focus on my science. Instead, here I am…

 

 41px-Pink_ribbon.svg

We all know what this little ribbon stands for. (For those of you who don’t, look it up.) Cancer is one of those things that are awful regardless of the timing, person, cause, location, or circumstance. We always hear about breast cancer, lung cancer, etc. but there are probably hundreds of different cancers that can occur in a person’s body. And what are we supposed to do about it?

When you find out that someone you love has cancer, how do you act? What do you say? What do you do? It’s not as though I can create a cure for cancer just like that. I’m not that smart, even if I wanted to be. And it’s not like your words can distract them from what is really going on. As if fighting cancer is not hard enough in most circumstances, it requires hours and hours of time with doctors and therapists and whoever else… discussing or focusing on the cancer inside of you. Forgetting about it, even for a moment, must be near impossible.

So what do I say to my friend, who may now have a cancerous tumor? The thing is huge, and is being removed next week, but if they find it is cancerous, chemo and other awful treatments are in her near future. And what do you say to the person to really, truly help? Do you offer to help with the kids, or is that for the family to deal with? Do you try to go to all appointments with her, hold her hand when her husband can’t be there? There is no guideline for friends of cancer patients.

Plus the wait is killing me. Is it or is it not cancer? If it’s not, then I’m doing all of this worry… to what purpose? It’s such a confusing situation, that the more I think about it, the more confused I become. Ugh!

I have known people in the past who have died (and survived) from cancer. My own grandmother has survived cancer three or four times now. But this is different. This is someone who has not already been through a majority of her life. This is a person who successfully nurtures and cares for an autistic child that, while hers in most sense, is not even her biological kin. She also runs a side business all on her own, since her partner (her mother) just passed away.

So here I sit, unsure what to do or say to make this situation better. I just keep thinking that my friend has been through too much lately to deal with anymore. But deal with more she must…

Cancer is an evil thing, and I still don’t get the purpose of it. I’m no longer a child, but I still don’t see the reason. And maybe God has planned it that way, because I don’t know that anyone else gets the reason either. Is it just to scare or humble us? I mean, it’s sole purpose cannot be to take those He needs to Heaven, because not everyone with cancer dies. Yet what purpose does it have for those that survive, except to make them grateful and appreciative? Like I said, I am one confused chicka sitting over here.

Anyway, I still do not know what to do about this entire situation, especially if the tests come back with cancerous results. So for the moment, if you believe in God, any God, please pray for the safety of my friend. She will appreciate it a million times over. If you have any advice for me, please PLEASE leave it in the comments below. Otherwise, just answer this poll, because I like polls and am curious. 

2 responses »

  1. Ok I’m probably going to get lots of hate for this. Cancer is not an evil thing. Don’t get me wrong, it is not good to have it. Cancer is no more evil than a tree falling on you. I think we should try to find a cure, but don’t give cancer attributes it doesn’t have.

    • Maybe it’s got no greater chance of killing someone than a car accident or a tornado, but that doesn’t mean it isn’t ugly and awful. I do agree with you to some extent, but I still don’t get the purpose of cancer in this world. Not saying I understand car accidents, tornados, etc. either.

Leave a Reply

